25 August 2020

Minutes of a Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors of NumFOCUS. All votes are reported in the form “(Y/N/A)” (in favor-Y‚ opposed-N‚ abstentions-A; e.g. “4-1-2” means “4 in favor, 1 opposed, and 2 abstentions”).

August 25, 2020


Board Members: Jane Herriman, James Powell, Katrina Riehl, Sylvain Corlay, Lorena Barba, Stéfan van der Walt, Andy Terrel

Executive Director: Leah Silen

Not attending: N/A

Email/Github Voting: Votes needed for June 30 minutes.

Executive Director’s Report:

A NumFOCUS fundraising task force is being created; so far resources (like lists of who to reach out to) are being consolidated to coordinate efforts.


a. Vote on Changeset Consulting joining as a Preferred Provider (Approved 7-0-0.)

b. Voting on New Project Applications

i.  Sponsored Projects

    1.  Arviz: Approved 5-0-0.

    2.  SciML: Approved 4-0-0.

    3.  TARDIS: Approved 5-0-0.

    4.  Toqito: Rejected 0-5-0.
ii. Affiliated Projects

    1.  Gridap: Conditionally approved 4-0-0.

    2.  Approach Zero: Rejected 0-5-0.

    3.  BrainFlow: Rejected 0-4-0 with invitation to reapply once they’ve better developed their community.

    4.  Bqplot: Approved 6-0-0.

    5.  PyCM: Rejected 0-5-0. (Single dev project, but welcome to reapply after greater community development)

    6. STUMPY: Rejected 0-4-0 (Single dev project)

    7. Pydeck: Rejected 0-5-0.

    8. Ajv: Rejected 0-4-0.

    9. Poliastro: Approved 5-0-0.

    10. PyNUFFT: Rejected 0-4-0.

    11. SSAL: Rejected 0-5-0.

    12. BentoML: Rejected 0-4-0 but welcome to reapply (in \~1 year) with broader community support

c. Propose that we make it a rule that a project that is rejected cannot apply before a calendar year has passed. This might discourage projects that are not ready to rush their application.