1 Dec 2020

Minutes of a Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors of NumFOCUS. All votes are reported in the form “(Y/N/A)” (in favor-Y‚ opposed-N‚ abstentions-A; e.g. “4-1-2” means “4 in favor, 1 opposed, and 2 abstentions”).

December 1, 2020


Board Members: Jane Herriman, Katrina Riehl, Sylvain Corlay, Stefan van der Walt, James Powell

Executive Director: Leah Silen

Not attending: Andy Terrell

Email/Github Voting:

October 6 minutes approved 4-0-0.

Executive Director’s Report: No report.


a. SDG Committee Recommendations -

i.  All projects recommended by the SDG will receive full funding
    requested except for two projects for which the board requested
    access to the original applications --- Approved 5-0-0.

ii. More information needed from two project applicants. The
    board will make a decision after seeing the full applications.

b. New Project applications

i. Fiscally sponsored applications:

    1. LFortran -- Approved 5-0-0.

    2. NetworkX -- Approved 5-0-0.

    3. Taskflow -- Approved 5-0-0 for **Affiliated** instead of fiscally sponsored,
    with written feedback from Leah.

ii. Affiliated applications:

    1.  GeomScale -- Accepted 5-0-0.
    2.  Feature-engine -- Rejected 0-5-0.
    3.  Dstack.ai -- Rejected 0-5-0.
    4.  Requiring online voting: Gaphor, Renku, OpenKIM, MPF, Hypergol, and Sgkit.

c. Jobs Board

i.  Stefan showed us/talked us through the job board

ii. We need a bit more information fleshed out and documented before
    it goes live, so that Leah doesn’t get a bunch of questions

d. Project summit short workshops

We may stick with a hybrid model (online/in-person) moving forward.

e. New board member?

i.  Lorena Barba has resigned from the NumFOCUS Board of Directors.

ii. Rather than election cycle, we may want to form a recruitment
    committee to decide on a few good candidates for a replacement
    board member

f. Advertisement on NumFOCUS website