4 May 2021

Minutes of a Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors of NumFOCUS. All votes are reported in the form “(Y/N/A)” (in favor-Y‚ opposed-N‚ abstentions-A; e.g. “4-1-2” means “4 in favor, 1 opposed, and 2 abstentions”).

May 4, 2021


Board Members: Katrina Riehl, Andy Terrel, James Powell, Jane Herriman, Stefan van der Walt, Sylvain Corlay

Executive Director: Leah Silen

Not attending: N/A

Email/Github Voting:

  1. Feb 9 – Approved 5-0-0.

  2. Feb 22 – Approved 5-0-0.

  3. March 9 – Approved 5-0-0.

  4. March 23 & April 6 – votes needed.

Executive Director’s Report:


a. Sponsored Project Applications

i.  Napari

    1.  Andy championed.

    2.  Approved 6-0-0

ii. Proposals submitted by the 2 projects applying under the Grantor
    > Grantee model:

    1.  GDAL: Approved 6-0-0

    2.  Sgkit: Approved 6-0-0

b. Affiliated Project Selection Committee

We had a discussion about strategies to create diversity leading to discussion about
quotas, creating opportunities, tokens, etc.

c. Open Collective Update - Leah

d. NumFocus Europe

i.  Sylvain has submitted bylaws.

ii. The legal entity has been created.