11 August 2022

Minutes of a Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors of NumFOCUS. All votes are reported in the form “(Y/N/A)” (in favor-Y‚ opposed-N‚ abstentions-A; e.g. “4-1-2” means “4 in favor, 1 opposed, and 2 abstentions”).

August 11, 2022


Board Members: Logan Kilpatrick, James Powell, Rosie Pongracz

Executive Director: Leah Silen

Not attending: Katrina Riehl, Stefan van der Walt, Sylvain Corlay

Consent Agenda Approval: None

Discussion Items:

a. Update on elections - Nominee responses to initial outreach

b. New Sponsored Project Applications (8 total) - Selection of projects to Champion

i. There were a total of 15 applications for Affiliated status

ii. Champions

     1.  James Powell: conda, GNU Octave

     2.  Logan Kilpatrick: Galaxy, Bioconductor

     3.  Rosie Pongracz: Worldwide Telescope

iii. Need champions for PyBaMM, Geomstats, CuPy

    1.  These will be allocated between Katrina, Stefan, and Sylvain if they are able too

iv.  Deadline for these reviews is August 31st

    1.  We will review these at the next board meeting

    2.  If a board member has some extenuating circumstances, we can push this out a week as well